Media Monday: Social Media Revolution…Really?

Watch this Video and then read my response below:

The statistics in this video are staggering.  I couldn’t believe  some of the numbers the first time I watched this.  Over the past couple of months I have been working with various leaders and organizations to help them understand the new reality that Social Media has ushered in.  This is not a fad, it is here to stay.

But…What is it?

Is this really a revolution?

Sure, the technology and software that has come on the scene in recent years has changed the way in which we communicate.  In my short 33 years I have witnessed the shift from email to tweets, from sharing pictures from a wallet to sharing them on facebook.

Just considering the last ten years shows the advancement of technology.  Ten years ago I had a pager.  Yes…I even clipped it to my belt.  Contrary to popular belief at the time I was not a ‘local pharmaceutical rep’.  I thought it was amazing that people could get a message to me at any time…and the message went through the air to this little box.  It was incredible.

Now I sit here, accessing the internet wirelessly on my very compact super-computer and my phone is nearly just as powerful.  On my smart phone I can receive email, text message, check the weather report, track UPS packages, tweet, check-in to GPS locations, etc….Oh and I can call people too.

Technology and Social Media really is amazing.

But what’s the point?  Is this revolution something new?

I don’t think so.  We have certain capabilities like never before, but the mission of is all is as old as the earth itself.

As humans, made in the image of God, we were created for connection.  We are designed to be in fellowship with our creator and with our neighbor.  The technology that we have today provides ways of connecting that are not too different from the stories told around the campfire, the conversations in the pub or coffee shop.

As Christians, we need to understand our culture.  We need to be on the forefront of the advancement of media and influence it for good.  But we must not lose sight of ultimate reality.  God is over all.  Jesus is Lord.  We must be connected to Him.  As the body of Christ, we must be connected in ways to advance the proclamation of the Gospel to the nations.

If there is a revolution as a result of social media, my hope is that it will be a Gospel revolution.  Let us leverage what we hold in our hand for the greatest good: That people will see Jesus, that they will repent and believe.

Social Media is only a threat and danger when we lose sight of this.

Leave a Reply

