Lost in the Message of Coldplay

coldplay

 

Just because I’m losing
Doesn’t mean I’m lost
Doesn’t mean I’ll stop
Doesn’t mean I will cross

Just because I’m hurting
Doesn’t mean I’m hurt
Doesn’t mean I didn’t get what I deserve
No better and no worse

I just got lost
Every river that I’ve tried to cross
And every door I ever tried was locked
Ooh-Oh, And I’m just waiting till the shine wears off… 

You might be a big fish
In a little pond
Doesn’t mean you’ve won
‘Cause along may come
A bigger one

 

And you’ll be lost
Every river that you try to cross
Every gun you ever held went off
Ooh-Oh, And I’m just waiting till the firing stops
Ooh-Oh, And I’m just waiting till the shine wears off
Ooh-Oh, And I’m just waiting till the shine wears off

I guess I just don’t get it.  You could say that I’m “lost” in the effort to find meaning in these lyrics.  It seems like one day someone said the word…lost…and someone else said…”hey that could be a song.”  Then they just filled up the empty space with some dramatic and thought confusing words.  There’s the metaphor of the “shine” and how it “wears off”…what’s that all about?  And what is the significance of the gun going off in his hand?  If you watch the music video…at this part of the song everyone cheers….but for what?  What is so compelling about disconnected word pictures?

I like Coldplay…don’t get me wrong.  They’re a good band…talented guys with a great sound…if you’re into the whole emotive…dreamy…stadium experience.  But I think they could’ve done a better job with this one.  It is a good sounding song…but when you try to really hear what they’re saying in it, I am left scratching my head. 

Any help out there…I’m lost.

2 thoughts on “Lost in the Message of Coldplay

  1. I think it’s proof we’ll buy into anything because it’s popular or labeled. Because they’re Coldplay we’ll like it. They are most likely laughing to themselves saying “Can you believe that stupid little poem we wrote actually became a hit?!”

    I love it! It’s Coldplay! Who cares what it means? (Note the sarcasm).

  2. I think it is about success and the price that comes with it. People being “on top of the world” and forgetting what is important in life. I think the big fish in a little pond part reveals much and if you listen to the version they did with Jay-Z, you’ll find more in his rap. I don’t think it was written without thought, so I guess I would have to disagree.

Leave a Reply

